I know it's a silly little awards show, and frankly, I didn't even watch it... but I heard about what Kanye West did to Taylor Swift (see video below if interested). It shocked me that someone could be such a selfish idiot, but it didn't completely surprise me - it fits with what little I know of his character. What he did was rude, and even though she got a second chance, her moment was ruined... she will never get that moment back.

Beyonce, on the other hand, showed class and she saved the day, as much as it could be saved. Good for her. It also fits with what I know of her character.

That's all I have to say about that.

I love, love, love this weather. My windows are open and it feels nice and cool, and that puts me in a good mood. Part of the reason I want to move away from here is that hot weather affects my mood so adversely... I get depressed easily, I feel lethargic and I have no motivation.

The first cold day of the year always puts me in the mood to do some Christmas shopping... I have no frickin' idea what to get people this year. Especially my parents. I think we may have finally come to an impasse... all three of us have pretty much everything we want and/or need. I think the biggest problem is that if we want something, we tbuy it then and there, if we can't afford it then it stands to reason it's too big for the Christmas list as well... so that makes it incredibly difficult to find something.

In the past I've been able to latch on to at least one thing that mom mentions during the year, something she ends up forgetting, but something she really wants. Then I hunt it down. It's not easy to surprise her... One year it was a partner to her Precious Moments baby boy Christmas decoration, another year it was a bottle of a favorite perfume that wasn't produced anymore, last year I got her a gorgeous opal ring (thank you eBay!). For her birthday last year I gambled and got her a boxed set of a Hallmark movie series I thought she'd like - thank god she and dad both loved it. So I will keep my eyes open for more opportunities like that... it'll be harder now that they have cable, too.

Dad is always difficult. I end up giving him money and one or two odds and ends, like a war movie or an action movie. Then I give them both gift cards for places they like to shop.

I keep telling myself that one year we should exchange one gift, or give each other money so we can take advantage of the after Christmas sales. Maybe this is the year. Or maybe instead of gifts we should take a vacation. We'll see. Maybe I'll get inspired by something soon.
Jeff
9/14/2009 11:51:11 am

Amen to cooler weather. It's still not low enough for me to open windows, but there is definitely a change in the air. Maybe a kilt would make summer more tolerable!

Less than 43 days? AAAARRRGGG!! :)

Reply



Leave a Reply.


sitemap:http://cdn.automaticsitemap.com/sitemap/17158.xml.gz